Chris Carr Takes 2nd @ 2010 Indy Mile


Each year the AMA rolls out the red carpet and showcases the greatest spectacle in dirt as part of the Red Bull MotoGP weekend. It was no different this year as D&D’s racer, Chris Carr, took 2nd at the 2010 Legendary Lucas Oil Indy Mile Ama Pro Flat Track race in front of a packed crowd. Carr diced with eventual winner and Kawasaki-mounted Bryan Smith.

The 22 minute affair ran for 25 laps with Carr taking an early lead. A red flag was issued on the third lap because of a rider dismount in the third turn.

At the re-start Carr took the point again and held it through much of the race. Only during the closing laps did Smith slip by. Carr hounded Smith and tried to make a move but the Kawasaki power was to much and Smith beat Carr to the stripe by 0.139 seconds.

1 42 Bryan Smith Kawasaki 25 Laps WINNER 0:38.293 0
2 4 Chris Carr Harley Davidson 0.139 0.139 0:38.433 0
3 2 Kenny Coolbeth Jr. Harley Davidson 2.398 2.258 0:38.491 0
4 5 Jake Johnson Harley Davidson 3.056 0.658 0:38.594 0
5 7 Sammy Halbert Harley Davidson 5.700 2.643 0:38.517 0
6 3 Joe Kopp Ducati 6.209 0.509 0:38.605 0
7 99B PJ Jacobsen Harley Davidson 6.322 0.113 0:38.475 0
8 1 Jared Mees Harley Davidson 7.782 1.460 0:38.641 0
9 20 Matt Weidman Harley Davidson 15.619 7.836 0:38.359 0

Glorious memories of the Indy Mile go back for decades. Top riders have always highly coveted a win at this race, long considered the “Crown Jewel” of AMA Pro Racing’s oldest and most tradition-rich professional racing series. After a hiatus that began in 1999, the race returned to the Indiana State Fairgrounds in 2008 to record-breaking crowds.

In 2009, a near-capacity crowd again returned to witness another night of sliding, drafting, handlebar-to-handlebar duels, 140 mph straightaway speeds, and inches-close finishes .

As a special treat in 2009, motorcycle racing legend “King” Kenny Roberts electrified the crowd with a no-holds barred, high-revving 3-lap curtain call on the infamous Yamaha TZ-750 he rode to victory in 1975.

It was another “Indy Mile Moment” to be savored by fans for years to come. Valentino Rossi and other top Moto GP riders cheered on Roberts while marveling at the guts and skill of today’s flat track stars.

This year Nicky Hayden was be the Grand Marshall of the event and threw a leg over a red Ducati of Larry Pegram and ran a few fan laps. He also announced an extension of his contract at a ceremony at the winner’s stand.

“We’re honored to have a U.S. and World Champion such as Nicky Hayden serve as Grand Marshal,” said Mike Moore, president of The Promotion Company-Family Events, producers of the Lucas Oil Indy Mile. “It’s a fitting tribute Nicky’s many accomplishments, especially here at the legendary Lucas Oil Indy Mile where he was first honored as a rookie,” Moore said.

Hayden achieved early career success on the dirt tracks of America. He is currently in his eighth season in the internationally acclaimed MotoGP World Championship riding for Ducati. He made history when he won the world championship in MotoGP in just his fourth season in 2006.

Screamin' Eagle Flat Track Racing - Some battles are best fought on the dirt.  Balanced on a razor's edge at speeds up to 140 mph, purpose-built Harley-Davidson(R) XR-750-powered motorcycles battle competition in one of the most exciting spectator sports on two wheels.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *